Bury, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Bury, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sutton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1590|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BURY, a parish, in the union of Sutton, hundred of Bury, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S. by E.) from Petworth.
Bury St John the Evangelist is an Ancient Parish in Sussex. Other places in the parish include West Burton.
The parish church has been desingated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Bury Wikipedia
See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460. [ http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50848+ here]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Bury, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Bury, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1558-1951 Marr 1558-1676, 1698-1996 Bur 1558-1676, 1698-1916
Bishop's Transcripts 1590-1862
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bury
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.