Butler County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Butler County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Butler County

Butler County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Butler County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1856
County Seat David City
Courthouse
px
Address Butler County Courthouse
451 N. 5th Street
David City, NE 68632
Phone: 402-367-7480
County Website


Butler County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Butler County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1856 1860 1856 1856

County Courthouse


County Clerk has land records from 1869. County Court has marriage and probate records. Clerk District Court has divorce and court records. [2]

History

Parent County

1856 Butler County was created 26 January 1856 from Greene County. County seat: David City [3]

Description

Its county seat is David City. The county was created in 1856 and organized in 1868.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [5]

City
  • David City
Villages
  • Abie
  • Bellwood
  • Brainard
  • Bruno
  • Dwight
  • Garrison
  • Linwood
  • Octavia
  • Rising City
  • Surprise
  • Ulysses
Unincorporated communities
  • Edholm
  • Loma
  • Millerton
  • Nimburg
Ghost towns
  • Savannah
Townships
  • Alexis
  • Bone Creek
  • Center
  • Franklin
  • Linwood
  • Oak Creek
  • Olive
  • Platte
  • Plum Creek
  • Read
  • Reading
  • Richardson
  • Savannah
  • Skull Creek
  • Summit
  • Ulysses
  • Union

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 27
1870 1,290 4677.8%
1880 9,194 612.7%
1890 15,454 68.1%
1900 15,703 1.6%
1910 15,403 −1.9%
1920 14,606 −5.2%
1930 14,410 −1.3%
1940 13,106 −9.0%
1950 11,432 −12.8%
1960 10,312 −9.8%
1970 9,461 −8.3%
1980 9,330 −1.4%
1990 8,601 −7.8%
2000 8,767 1.9%
2010 8,395 −4.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Butler County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Butler County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nebutler.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Butler County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Butler - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Butler County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butler_County,_Nebraska accessed 10/26/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Butler County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butler_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).