Buttsbury, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Buttsbury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Buttsbury St Mary Essex
|Poor Law Union||Chelmsford|
|Parish registers: 1657; For more records see Stock Harward|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Buttsbury (St Mary), is a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex; it is on the river Wid and on the Eastern Counties railway, 1 1/2 miles SE of Ingatestone railway station, and 6 1/2 miles SSW of Chelmsford.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Buttsbury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Buttsbury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.
Poor Law Unions
Parish chest materials, 1818-1935 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.Contents: item 17. Vestry minutes, 1857-1935 -- item 18. Preabulation, 1818 -- item 19. Parish council minutes, 1894-1900 -- item 20. Parish council records, 1894-1934. Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, no.: D/P390/8, 30/1-2, D/P54/28/3. Parish chest materials, 1818-1935 FHL BRITISH Film
1657347 Items 17-20
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Buttsbury on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 10 May 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
- Batch C041811, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
- Batch M041811, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.