Buxton, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Buxton, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Buxton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buxton, Derbyshire
Buxton St John the Baptist Derbyshire.jpg
Buxton St John the Baptist Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chapel en le Frith
Registration District Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718; Separate registers exist for Fairfield beginning 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721; Separate records exist for Fairfield beginning 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buxton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hartington; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

BUXTON, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Bakewell, union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 33 miles (N. W.) from Derby, and 159 (N. W. by N.) from London, on the high road from Derby to Manchester. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians. [1].

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.


Church records

Buxton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Buxton St John the Baptist (1718) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1893-1912
  NONE
1899-1907
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Buxton St John the Baptist included chapels of ease Buxton, St Anne, Derbyshire Buxton, St James the Greater, Derbyshire Buxton, St Mary, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1751 has deposited registers Bap 1718-1907 Mar 1718-1739,1756-1771,1786-1949 Burials 1718-1749, 1764-1939 Banns 1824-1967

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Chapel en le Frith

Poor Law Unions

Chapel en le Frith Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Buxton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 462-467. Date accessed: 29 April 2013.