Byard's Leap, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Byard's Leap, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Byards Leap

Guide to Byard's Leap, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Byard's Leap, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

BAYARD LEAP, an extra-parochial tract in Sleaford district, Lincoln; 5½ miles NW of Sleaford.[1]

Byard's Leap is an extra parochial place and a small hamlet to the west of Cranwell, Lincolnshire and the Royal Air Force College there.

The Lands of Byard's Leap were part of the Knights Templar estate at Temple Bruer which was used both as a source of income and as a military training ground by the order.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Cataloguw showing the film numbers in their collection for this extra parochial placeByard's Leap

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Genuki Byards Leap

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.