Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Cabarrus County

Guide to Cabarrus County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Cabarrus County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Cabarrus County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1792
County Seat Concord
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaCabarrusCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Cabarrus Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1913
1793
1913
1800
1784
1794

Cabarrus County Courthouse
65 Church ST SE
Concord, NC 28801-3519
Phone: 704-920-2112

Register of Deeds has birth and deat records from 1913
Marriage and land records from 1792 and military discharge records from 1919
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 707
Concord, NC 28026
Telephone: 704-920-2112
Fax: 704-920-2898
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 70
Concord, NC 28025-0070
Telephone: (704) 262-5500

History

Parent County

1792--Cabarrus County was created 15 November 1792 from Mecklenburg County.  County seat: Concord [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1876--Courthouse fire resulted in the loss of a few court records.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nccabarrus.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Coldwater Creek. Constituted 1790.[3]
Lutheran
  • Bethel United Church of Christ, near Mount Pleasant, N.C. Organized early 1800s.[4]
  • St. John's Church aka Dutch Buffalo Creek Church, near Mount Pleasant, N.C. Began about 1745.[5]
Presbyterian
  • Rocky River Church, Rocky River, N.C. Founded early 1750s.[6]

Court

Family Histories

Bibliography

  • [Morrison] Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. "Twelve Things We've Learned While Compiling the Rocky River Morrison Genealogies," Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2819. Available at FHL.
  • [Morrison] Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of John (1725?-1777) & Mary (1732-1781) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.
  • [Morrison] Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of James (1726-1804) and Jennet (1735-1810) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.
  • [Morrison] Morrison, Janet and Marie Morrison. Descendants of Robert (1728-1810) and Sarah (1739-1816) Morrison of Rocky River. Reviewed in Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Aug. 1997):2830. Available at FHL.

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cabarrus County, North Carolina Genealogy:

-7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
-8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company E
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Divorce
Marriage

Societies and Libraries 

Cabarrus Genealogy Society
PO Box 2981
Concord, NC 28025-0002
E-mail:CabarrusGenealogySociety@gmail.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cabarrus County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  4. "Bethel United Church of Christ," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  5. "St. John's Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  6. "Rocky River Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.