Cahto Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Cahto Indians

Makah (Kato or Cahto) woman.jpg
Guide to Cahto Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Homeland: Northern California in Long Valley and Cahto Valley.

Linquistic group: Athabascan

Tribal Headquarters

P.O. Box 1239
300 Cahto Drive
Laytonville, CA 95454

Phone: 1.707.984.6197
Fax: 1.707.984.620

History

Brief Timeline

1840: conflict with the Yuki tribe

1851: Tribe encountered by Redick McKee

1856: settlers begin to encroach upon tribal land

1859: massacre in Long Valley 32 Indians were killed.

removed to Round Valley Reservation

1908: a land grant of 264 acres to the tribe,became known as Laytonville Rancheria

Reservations

This tribe is primarily associated with the Laytonville Rancheria in California.

Additional References to the History of the Tribe and/or Bands

Bands of the Cahto Tribe and Their Reservations

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References