Calaveras County, California Genealogy
Guide to Calaveras County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Calaveras County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|County Seat||San Andreas|
|Address|| Calaveras County Courthouse; 891 Mountain Ranch Rd; |
San Andreas, CA 95249
Phone: 209.754.6376 Calaveras County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Passenger Records
- 5.21 Periodicals
- 5.22 Probate Records
- 5.23 Repositories
- 5.24 Societies
- 5.25 Taxation
- 5.26 Vital Records
- 5.27 Voting Registers
- 5.28 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 5.29 Websites
- 5.30 References
Calaveras County, California Record Dates
County Recorder has birth records from 1860, marriage, death and divorce records from 1882, probate and court records from 1866, land records from 1852 & mining claims from 1850
18 February 1850: Calaveras County was created as an original county. County seat: San Andreas 
The county was named for the word "skulls". Was named for the river Calaveras which had been reported by the Spanish Explorer Gabriel Moraga when he found many skulls of Native Americans on the banks of the river. They had either died from famine or from tribal wars. The county seat San Andreas and the county was created 1850. The County is located in the east central corner of the state.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following web site may have additional information on Calaveras County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Calaveras County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1850 - California 1852 Special Census Records, Calaveras County (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1852 - California State Census, 1852
- 1850 - Calaveras County 1850 Census (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1940 - 1940 U.S. Federal Census
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Calaveras County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Big Tree Road (Ebbetts Pass) 1851 from western Nevada to Markleeville, Murphys, and Stockton, California
Military History and Records
- - 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company H
World War II
- World War II Enlistments, Calaveras County, A-L (USGenWeb Archives)
- World War II Enlistments, Calaveras County, M-Z (USGenWeb Archives)
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel, Calaveras County, CA (Genealogy Trails)
- Calaveras County Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
- California Northern U.S. District Court Naturalization Index, 1852-1989
- California San Diego Naturalization Index, 1868-1958
- California Southern District Court (Central) Naturalization Index, 1915-1976
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Calaveras County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- California, San Joaquin, County Public Library Obituary Index, 1850-1991
- Index to Calaveras County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Calaveras County Obituary Index (Genealogy Trails)
- California, Los Angeles Passenger Lists, 1907-1948
- California, San Francisco Passenger Lists, 1893-1953
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Calaveras - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch - index
- 1858 - 1974 - Calaveras County Birth Records, 1858-1974 at FamilySearch - microfilm
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1949 - 1959 - California, Marriage Index, 1949-1959 at Ancestry.com $
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- California Death Index, 1905-1939
- California Death Index, 1940-1997
- California, San Francisco Area Funeral Home Records, 1835-1931
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Calaveras County Historical Society
P.O. Box 721
30 N. Main St.
San Andreas 95249
Calaveras County Archives
891 Mountain Ranch Road
San Andreas, CA 95249
Office Phone: 209-754-3918
- Calaveras County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Calaveras County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Calaveras County, California Genealogy Trails
- Calaveras County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Calaveras County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Calaveras County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calaveras_County,_California 04/28/2017.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).