Calcethorpe, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Calcethorpe, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Calcethorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Calcethorpe, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Louth-Eske Hundred
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Louth
Registration District Louth
Records begin
Parish registers: None; See also Kelstern
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562-1649; See also Kelstern
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Louthesk and Ludborough
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

CALCETHORPE (St. Faith), a parish, in the union of Louth, Wold division of the hundred of LouthEske, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Louth. [1]

Calcethorpe was an Ancient parish.

The church was dedicated to Saint Faith but had fallen into ruin and disappeared by about 1450, around the same time as the rest of the village was abandoned.White, W.. 1856. History, Gazetteer and Directory of Lincolnshire. P225 & Bereford, M.W.. 1954. The Lost Villages of England. p.308

Lincs to the Past

The hamlet and Deserted Medieval Village form part of the civil parish of Calcethorpe with Kelstern.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The former church has no surviving records (see Lincs to the Past)

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Calcethorpe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Louth Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Calcethorpe/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 467-471. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.