Caledonia County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Caledonia County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Caledonia County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Caledonia County


{{{link}}}

Caledonia County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Caledonia County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 5, 1792
County Seat Saint Johnsbury
Courthouse
VermontCaledoniaCourthouse.jpg
Address Caledonia County Courthouse
P.O. Box 4129
1126 Main Street #1
Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Phone: 802-748-6600
Fax: 802-748-6603
Caledonia County Website


County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from from 1797; Probate Judge has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barnet 1763
Burke 1782
Cabot 1780
Danville 1786
Groton 1789
Hardwick 1781
Lyndon 1780
Peacham 1763
Ryegate 1763
Sheffield 1793
Saint Johnsbury 1785
Sutton 1782
Walden 1780
Waterford 1781
Wheelock 1785 [1]
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Caledonia County, Vermont
  

Quick Facts

Parent County

5 November 1792: from Orange County.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Towns


Extinct Towns:   · Bradleyvale  · Hopkinsville[2]

Villages:  · Lyndonville  · West Burke

Neighboring Counties:  · Essex  · Lamoille  · Orange  · Orleans  · Washington  · Grafton, New Hampshire



Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VTInterment WorldCat Billion Graves
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

  • Jeffrey, William H. Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties. East Burke, Vermont, The Historical Publishing Company, 1904. Internet Archives.
  • Child, Hamilton Gazetteer of Caledonia and Essex Counties, Vt. 1764-1887. Caledonia County, Vermont, Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, 1887. Google Books.

Land and Property

Maps

Caledonia County

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G and H

Newspapers

The Caledonian : (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1837-1867, A.G. Chadwick. Dates of publication:1837-1867. Published weekly.
St. Johnsbury Caledonian. (St. Johnsbury, Vermont) 1867-1919. C.M. Stone & Co. Dates of publication:1867-1919. Published weekly.

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Caledonia County Historical Societies

Barnet Historical Society
26 Goodwillie Road
Barnet Center, VT
802 Warden Road
Barnet, VT 05821
Telephone: 802-633-2325
E-mail:davewarden37@hotmail.com

Burke Historical Society
White School House Museum
c/o Burke Mountain Club
PO Box 309
East Burke, VT 05832
Telephone: 802-626-9823

Danville Historical Society
Choate-Sias Historical House
121 Hill St.
PO Box 274
Danville, VT 05828
Telephone: 802-684-2055
E-mail:historicalsociety.director.dan@gmail.com
Website

Groton Historical Society
Peter Paul 1840 House
1203 Scott Highway
PO Box 89
Groton, VT 05046
Telephone: 802-584-3417

Hardwick Historical Society
Hardwick Depot
Depot Street (off Church Street behind Town House)
PO Box 177
Hardwick, VT 05843
Telephone: 802-472-8555
E-mail:hardwickhistoricalsociety@myfairpoint.net

Lyndon Historical Society
Shores Memorial Museum
202 Center Street
PO Box 85, Lyndon Center
VT 05850
Telephone: 802-626-9321
E-mail:warden960a@charter.net

Peacham Historical Association
153 Church Street
PO Box 101
Peacham, VT 05862
E-mail:info@peachamhistorical.org
Website

Ryegate Historical Society
54 Paper Mill Road
3158 N. Bayley Hazen Rd
East Ryegate, VT 05402
Telephone: 802-592-3378
E-mail:doverford@gmail.com or mosquito@fairpoint.net

Saint Johnsbury History & Heritage Center
Lower Level of the former Summer Street School
481 Summer Street
PO Box 223
St. Johnsbury, VT05819
Telephone: 802-424-1090
E-mail:ppearl47@gmail.com
Website

Sheffield Historical Society
Municipal Building
37 Dane Road
PO Box 75
Sheffield, VT 05866
Telephone: 802-626-9416
E-mail:edrichardson@juno.com

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caledonia County, Vermont, 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.