Calke, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Calke, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1699|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1838|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Calke, Derby.—See Caulk.
CAULK, or Calke (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 4¼ miles (N. by E.) from Ashby. A convent of Augustine friars, in honour of St. Mary and St. Giles, was founded here before 1161; of which the Countess of Chester was a principal benefactor, on the condition that it should be subject to the priory of Repindon, or Repton..
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.
Calke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Calke St Giles (1699) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1699-1906
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- General Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Ashby de le Zouch
Poor Law Unions
- Ashby de le Zouch
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Calke on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 534-538. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.