Calverton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Calverton Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Calverton St Wilfrid Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1617|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
CALVERTON (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (N. N. E.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans, and for a sect peculiar to the parish, founded in the latter part of the last century. 
Calverton St Wilfrid is an Ancient Parish which includes Salterford within its boundaries.
The church of st Wilfrid dates from the 13th century with subsequent rebuilding and restoration in 1881 and has been designated asa grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Calverton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|CALVERTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Calverton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.