Camberwell Camden Chapel, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Guide to Camberwell Camden Chapel, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Camberwell Camden Chapel, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Camberwell
Registration District Camberwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Winchester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

Camberwell Camden Chapel, or sometimes called Camden Church, was erected in 1795 as a  proprietary chapel (privately funded and operated) until November, 1844 when it was consecreated as a chapelry. It stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Giles Camberwell.

CAMBERWELL (St. Giles), a parish and union, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, 3¼ miles (S.) from London; containing the hamlets of Dulwich and Peckham. [1]


Camberwell Camden Chapel, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474651.



Poor Law Unions

Camberwell Poor Law Union, Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[2]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 474-479. Date accessed: 24 February 2014.
  2. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.