Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge All Saints, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

In 1887, John Bartholomew's described Cambridge like this:

Cambridge.-- parl. and mun. bor., and co. town of Cambridgeshire, on the river Cam, 56 miles N. of London by rail.[1]

Cambridge All Saints; A parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 ancient parishes in Cambridge. The church of All Saints was reconstructed on a new site in 1864; is an ornamental edifice; and contains a monument, by Chantrey, to Henry Kirke White.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Besides All Saints Parish, here's a list of all the other Cambridge Town ecclesiastical parishes and chapelries of the Church of England up to about 1870:

  • All Saints - 1538
  • Holy Sepulchre - 1567
  • Holy Trinity - 1564
  • St. Andrew the Great - 1635
  • St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1753
  • St. Benedict - 1539
  • St. Botolph - 1564
  • St. Clement - 1560
  • St. Edward - 1558
  • St. Giles - 1585
  • St. Mary the Great - 1559
  • St. Mary the Less - 1557
  • St. Michael - 1538
  • St. Peter - 1586
  • Christ Church Chapelry - 1839
  • St. Barnabas - 1869
  • St. John Mission Church 1874
  • St. Matthew - 1866
  • St. Paul's Chapelry - 1845 (see also St Andrew the Less)

Online Records

Cambridge All Saints parish registers have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
CAMBRIDGE ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876 1539-1876 None
FMP None
None
FREG


CFHS
1538-1950
1538-1950
1539-1950
JOIN
None
1538-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Independent
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints

Census records

This information is listed under Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge All Saints on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew, fckLR Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. Genuki Genuki: CAMBRIDGE ALL SAINTS. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.