Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes


Guide to Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Cambridge - St Andrew the Great; A parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Andrew the Great was re built in 1643, and again in 1845. The town is divided into four distinct wards, named respectively Bridge ward, Market ward, High ward, and Preacher's ward; and contains the fourteen parishes of All Saints, St. Andrew the Great, St. Andrew the Less, St. Benedict, St. Botolph, St. Clement, St.Edward, St. Giles, St. Mary the Great, St. Mary the Less, St. Michael, St.Peter, St. Sepulchre, and the Holy Trinity.[1]

Cambridge - St Andrew the Great. A Parish in Cambridge.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Besides St Andrew the Great Parish, here's a list of all the other Cambridge Town ecclesiastical parishes and chapelries of the Church of England up to about 1870:

  • St Andrew the Great - 1538
  • All Saints - 1538
  • Holy Sepulchre - 1567
  • Holy Trinity - 1564
  • St. Andrew the Great - 1635
  • St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1753
  • St. Benedict - 1539
  • St. Botolph - 1564
  • St. Clement - 1560
  • St. Edward - 1558
  • St. Giles - 1585
  • St. Mary the Great - 1559
  • St. Mary the Less - 1557
  • St. Michael - 1538
  • St. Peter - 1586
  • Christ Church Chapelry - 1839
  • St. Barnabas - 1869
  • St. John Mission Church 1874
  • St. Matthew - 1866
  • St. Paul's Chapelry - 1845 (see also St Andrew the Less)

Online Records

St Andrew the Great Parish registers and those registers of all of its contiguous ecclesiastical parishes and smaller chapelries lying within Cambridge Township boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
CAMBRIDGE ST ANDREW THE GREAT (1538) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1867 1600-1837
None
CFHS
1538-1950
1538-1950
1538-1950
JOIN
None
1600-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Marriages at St. Andrew-the-Great's Church, 1600-1837 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for St. Andrew-the-Great's Church, Cambridge, 1600-1864 at FHL


Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints

Census records

Information regarding these records is available on the Wiki Page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge St Andrew on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. Genuki. Genuki Website, Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.