Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes


Guide to Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1753
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Cambridge St Andrew the Less [called Barnwell as well]. A parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Andrew the Less, or Barnwell, was partly built out of Barnwell priory. The old church stands eastward from the town, and is supposed to have been built from the ruins of the priory at Barnwell. The village of Barnwell has suffered from repeated fires, the last and most destructive of which was on the 30th of Nov. 1731, when the greater part of the houses were consumed. A chapel of ease was erected a few years since; and an additional church, dedicated to Christ, a handsome edifice in the later English style, and now used as the parish church, was consecrated on the 27th of July, 1839.[1]

Cambridge St. Andrew The Less, (otherwise Barnwell) a parish in the town of Cambridge.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Besides St Andrew the Less Parish, here's a list of all the other Cambridge Town ecclesiastical parishes and chapelries of the Church of England up to about 1870:

  • St Andrew the Less - 1557
  • All Saints - 1538
  • Holy Sepulchre - 1567
  • Holy Trinity - 1564
  • St. Andrew the Great - 1635
  • St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1753
  • St. Benedict - 1539
  • St. Botolph - 1564
  • St. Clement - 1560
  • St. Edward - 1558
  • St. Giles - 1585
  • St. Mary the Great - 1559
  • St. Michael - 1538
  • St. Peter - 1586
  • Christ Church Chapelry - 1839
  • St. Barnabas - 1869
  • St. John Mission Church 1874
  • St. Matthew - 1866
  • St. Paul's Chapelry - 1845 (see also St Andrew the Less)

St Andrew the Less Parish registers and those registers of all of its contiguous ecclesiastical parishes and smaller chapelries lying within Cambridge Township boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites cited below.

Online Records

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
  CAMBRIDGE ST ANDREW THE LESS (1599) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1729 None None
JOIN None
1599-1837 None
CFHS
1599-1950
1599-1950
1599-1950

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent
  • Particular Baptist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Census records

Information on these records in available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge St Andrew the Less on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. Genuki Genuki Website. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.