Cambridge St Paul, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Paul, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Paul, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Cambridge St Paul, a parish in Cambridge and one of the 14 parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Paul, and another called Christ church, are recent erections; and the church of St. Barnabas was founded in 1869.[1]

Cambridge St Paul.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
CAMBRIDGE ST PAUL CHAPELRY (1845) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1876 1845-1876
None
CFHS
1538-1950


JOIN
None
None
None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Independent
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints

Census records

Information on these records is available on the Wiki page for Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. Genuki, Genuki Website. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.