Cambridge St Redegund, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Redegund, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Redegund, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For more records see Cambridge All Saints
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Cambridge St Redegund. The priory of St. Radegund was a convent originally. There were plans to turn it into a college. It was dissolved in 1496 due to its close proximity to the University of Cambridge. It set the foundation for the College of St. Mary the Virgin, St. John the Evangelist, and St. Radegund the Virgin.[1]

St Radegund's Priory, Cambridge was a Benedictine nunnery. Radegund was a 6th-century Frankish princess, who founded the monastery of the Holy Cross at Poitiers. It was founded before 1144 (probably in the late 1130s) and dissolved in 1496 by the initiative of John Alcock, Bishop of Ely. .[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

For more records see Cambridge All Saints

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.
  2. Wikipedia, Wikipedia Website. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.