Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cambridge Borough
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Cambridge
Registration District Cambridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Cambridge St Sepulchre, one of the many parishes in Cambridge. The church of St. Sepulchre was built by the Templars in 1101, and restored by the Camden Society in 1843. St. Sepulchre's, or the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, is on the east side of Bridge-street, and is remarkable for the peculiarity of construction of the more ancient part of it, which is believed to be the oldest remaining specimen of the circular churches erected by the Knights Templars on the model of that of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem, and to have been built in the reign of Henry I.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Besides Holy Sepulchre Parish, here's a list of all the other Cambridge Town ecclesiastical parishes and chapelries of the Church of England up to about 1870:

  • Holy Sepulchre - 1567
  • All Saints - 1538
  • Holy Trinity - 1564
  • St. Andrew the Less - 1557
  • St. Andrew the Great - 1635
  • St. Andrew the Less or Barnwell - 1753
  • St. Benedict - 1539
  • St. Botolph - 1564
  • St. Clement - 1560
  • St. Edward King & Martyr - 1558
  • St. Giles - 1585
  • St Mary the Great - 1559
  • St Mary the Less - 1557
  • St. Michael - 1538
  • St. Peter - 1586
  • Christ Church Chapelry - 1839
  • St. Barnabas - 1869
  • St. John Mission Church 1874
  • St. Matthew - 1866
  • St. Paul's Chapelry - 1845 (see also St Andrew the Less)

Holy Sepulchre Parish registers and those registers of all of its contiguous ecclesiastical parishes and smaller chapelries lying within Cambridge Township boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites cited below.

Online Records

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex
CFHS = Cambridgeshire Family History Society
CAMBRIDGE SAINT SEPULCHRE (1569) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1571-1868 1569-1811
None
CFHS
1571-1950
1569-1950
1567-1950
JOIN
None
1569-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Jewish synagogue

Other chapels and congregations within Cambridge Township included--

  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Independent
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day saints

Census records

This information is listed under Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cambridge St Sepulchre or Holy Sepulchre on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 479-497. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.