Cambridgeshire Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Cambridgeshire
Wiki Topics
England-cambridgeshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cambridgeshire Background
Local Research Resources


England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Parish Registers

Original Parish Registers at the Cambridge County Record Office.

Cambridgeshire's historical record according to church registers--especially of the Church of England, is now well-covered with indexes and/or transcriptions galore. These resources cover the time period from 1538 to post-1910, mostly by the Cambridgeshire Family History Society (CFHS) on CDs and but also by other compilers. The society's CDs may be purchased by going to the CFHS website. Here is a list by the event type:

Baptisms

  • Cambridgeshire Family History Society's online Index covers 1801-1837 baptisms
  • 157,016 Cambridgeshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as FamilySearch's British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]
  • FamilySearch has transcribed and indexed approximately 70-75 percent of Cambridgeshire's baptisms
  • In-house patrons of the Family History Library (in downtown Salt Lake City), and most of it's worldwide satelite branches called FamilyHistory Centers (FHCs) may view online the above mentioned Cambridgeshire Family History Society CDs of countywide baptisms. Check here for locating the nearest FH Center to you and its open hours and contact details.
  • Know of but don't have access to the parish registers of the target parish[es] of interest? Purchase CDs for each parish, at the CFHS website.

Marriages

All marriages have been either indexed, or transcribed by the following groups:

  • CFHS (Cambridgeshire Family History Society) has transcribed these from 1538 to post-1900 and you can access these at no cost via most FamilySearch Centers in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and in the UK.
  • FindMyPast.co.uk has published online the famous Boyd's Marriage Index, 1538-1837 which covers about 85 percent of the county's marriages
  • 46 Cambridgeshire parishes are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[2]
  • 29,162 Cambridgeshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[3]
  • Cambridgeshire Parish Registers, Marriages (Volume 1) - Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts), 1853-1913, ed An edition of 150 copies printed: Parishes included are Cambridge, St. Edwards:1558-1812, Fen Drayton: 1580-1812, Knapwell: 1598-1812
  • Cambridgeshire parish registers. Marriages (Volume 3) - Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts), 1853-1913, ed An edition of 150 copies printed: Parishes included are Boxworth: 1588-1812, Long Stanton: All Saints 1599-1812 and St. Michael - 1559-1812, Oakington: 1561-1812, Girton: 1599-1812, Dry Drayton: 1565-1812, Cambridge, St. Botolph's: 1564-1812, Madingley: 1539-1812, Toft: 1539-1780, Caldecot: 1599-1812
  • Cambridgeshire parish registers. Marriages (Volume 7) - Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts), 1853-1913, ed An edition of 150 copies printed: Parishes inclued are Cambridge, St. Andrew the Less: 1599-1837, Cambridge, St. Bendict: 1539-1837, Chesterton: 1564-1837, Cambridge, St. Edward: 1813-1837. Also online (vol 7) at FamilySearch.org's online digital books 

Burials

  • Cambridgeshire Family History Society Indexes covering 1801-1837 for burials
  • Burials from 187 Cambridgeshire places (228,386 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[4]
  • CFHS (Cambridgeshire Family History Society) has transcribed these from 1538 to post-1950 and you can access these at no cost via most FamilySearch Centers in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and in the UK.
  • FamilySearch has recently indexed/transcribed and made accessible online, numerous parish burials throughout the county. Merely type in (correctly spelled) the name of the parish in its search engine, to determine what parish burials are available for each individual parish.

Parish Chest

Parish Chest Records at the Family History Library
Balsham 1869 Hildersham 1886-1900 Over 1628-1899
Bottisham 1870-1900 Impington 1887-1900 Soham 1663-1890
Comberton 1841 Isleham 1841-1861 Whittlesford 1703-1872
Downham 1827-1864 Kirtling 1703-1890 Willingham 1505-1865
Elsworth 1842-1843 Leverington 1478-1875 Witcham 1863-1864
Foulmire 1847-1894 Milton 1825-1861
Order Microfilm from a Family History Center

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.