Camden County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Camden County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Camden County


Guide to Camden County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Camden County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Camden County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 5, 1777
County Seat Woodbine
Courthouse
Address Camden County Courthouse
4th Street
PO Box 99
Woodbine, GA 31569
Phone: 912.576.5601
Camden County Website


County Information

Camden County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Camden County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1819

1790
1777
1795

County Courthouse

Camden County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Camden County Courthouse
202 E 4th St
Woodbine, GA 31569
Phone: 912.576.5601

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court, and land records; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.[1]


Clerk of the Superior Court
210 E. 4th St.
P.O. Box 550
Woodbine, GA 31569
Telephone:: 912-576-5631
Fax: 912-576-5648

Probate Court
210 E. 4th St.
P.O. Box 818
Woodbine, GA 31569
Telephone: 912-576-3785
Fax: 912-576-5484

History

Parent County

1777--Camden County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Thomas and St. Mary Parishes.
County seat: Woodbine [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Brantley County  • Charlton County  • Glynn County  • Nassau County

Camden CountyGlynn CountyBrantley CountyCharlton CountyEchols CountyClinch CountyWare CountyPierce CountyBacon CountyNassau CountyDuval CountyBaker CountySt. Johns CountyColumbia CountyHamilton CountyGACamden.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

An Abandoned Black Settlement on Cuberland Island, (Camden County) Georgia. Mary Riketson Bullard. - South Dartmouth, Mass. [C. 1982] 129 p  F292.C94 B84 1982

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Episcopal

Episcopal Mission District

St. Mary's Church of Our Saviour

Methodist Episcopal

City Directories

  1892 St. Mary's, Georgia City Directory (digital images) Georgia Pioneers

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Camden County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gacamden.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Camden County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Camden County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
World War I

  Camden County World War I Service Records 1917-1919 (Army, Navy, Marines) (digital images)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Camden County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Death Records
Marriage Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Camden County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 18. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Camden_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2752924"