Canewdon, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Canewdon, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Canewdon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Canewdon, Essex
St Nicholas Canewdon Essex.jpg
St Nicholas Canewdon Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canewdon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

CANEWDON (St. Nicholas), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Rochford, S. division of Essex, it is 3½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Rochford. This parish, is bounded on the north by the navigable river Crouch, and derives its name from Canute the Dane.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Canewdon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Canewdon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1636-1740


ESSEX
1636-1897
1636-1837
1636-1961
NBI



1636-1969
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Canewdon on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1870) Adapted: Date Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.