Cape Verde Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cape Verde)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Cape Verde

Cape Verde Wiki Topics
Flag of Cape Verde.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cape Verde Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Cape Verde ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Cape Verde is an island country in the Atlantic Ocean. It was formerly a colony of Portugal. The official language is Portuguese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Cape Verde Research

Links to articles on getting started with Cape Verde research.

Cape Verde Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Cape Verde research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Cape Verde Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cape Verde.
Cape Verde Islands Map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cape Verde. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

The nine inhabited islands of Cape Verde are divided into two geographical groups, the Barlavento (windward) Islands (Boa Vista, Sal, Santa Luzia, Santo Antão, São Nicolau, and São Vicente)  and the Sotavento (leeward) Islands (Brava, Fogo, Santiago, and Maio). Each of these islands is hosts one or more municipalities, plus towns and parishes; all but towns are as follows:

Barlavento Islands (island group)

Santo Antão (island)

Ribeira Grande (municipality)

Nossa Senhora do Rosário (parish)
Nossa Senhora do Livramento (parish)
Santo Crucifixo (parish)
São Pedro Apóstolo (parish)

Paul (municipality)

Santo António das Pombas (parish)

Porto Novo (municipality)

São João Baptista (parish)
Santo André (parish)

São Vicente and Santa Luzia (islands)

São Vicente (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Luz (parish)

São Nicolau (island)

Ribeira Brava (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Lapa (parish)
Nossa Senhora do Rosário (parish)

Tarrafal de São Nicolau (municipality)

São Francisco (parish)

Sal (island)

Santa maria.jpg

Sal (municipality)

Nossa Senhora das Dores (parish)

Boa Vista (island)

Boa Vista (municipality)

Santa Isabel (parish)
Sao João Baptista (parish)

Sotovento Islands (island group)

Maio (island)

Maio  (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Luz (parish)

Santiago (island)

Praia (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Graça (parish)

São Domingos (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Luz (parish)
São Nicolau Tolentino (parish)

Santa Catarina (municipality)

Santa Catarina (parish)

São Salvador do Mundo (municipality)

São Salvador do Mundo (parish)

Santa Cruz (municipality)

Santiago Maior (parish)

São Lourenço dos Órgãos (municipality)

São Lourenço dos Órgãos (parish)

Ribeira Grande de Santiago (municipality)

Santíssimo Nome de Jesus (parish)
São João Baptista (parish)

São Miguel (municipality)

São Miguel Arcanjo (parish)

Tarrafal (municipality)

Santo Amaro Abade (parish)

Fogo (island)

São Filipe (municipality)

São Lourenço (parish)
Nossa Senhora da Conceição (parish)
Santa Catarina do Fogo (municipality)
Santa Catarina do Fogo (parish)

Mosteiros (municipality)

Nossa Senhora da Ajuda (parish)

Brava (island)

Brava (municipality)

São João Baptista (parish)
Nossa Senhora do Monte (parish)

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cape Verde," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cape_Verde, accessed 3 May 2016.