Cardiff, Glamorgan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cardiff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Wales Gotoarrow.png Cardiff

Guide to Cardiff history, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cardiff (Welsh: Caerdydd) is the capital city of Wales.

Historic Cardiff.jpg

History

Coat of arms of Cardiff
Cardiff location in the UK
Cardiff city Flag

Archaeological evidence from sites in and around Cardiff: the St Lythans burial chamber, near Wenvoe (about four miles (6.4 km) west, south west of Cardiff city center); the Tinkinswood burial chamber, near St Nicholas (about six miles (10 km) west of Cardiff city center, the Cae'rarfau Chambered Tomb, Creigiau (about six miles (10 km) north west of Cardiff city center, and the Gwern y Cleppa Long Barrow, near Coedkernew, Newport (about eight and a quarter miles (13.5 km) north east of Cardiff city center, demonstrates that people had settled in the area by at least around 6,000 years ago.

Until the Roman conquest of Britain, Cardiff was part of the territory of the Silures – a Celtic British tribe that flourished in the Iron Age – whose territory included the areas that would become known as Breconshire, Monmouthshire and Glamorgan.

Little is known about the fort and civilian settlement in the period between the Roman departure from Britain and the Norman Conquest. The settlement probably shrank in size and may even have been abandoned.

In 1081 William I, King of England, began work on the castle keep within the walls of the old Roman fort. Cardiff Castle has been at the heart of the city ever since.

In 1536, the Act of Union between England and Wales led to the creation of the shire of Glamorgan, and Cardiff was made the county town. It also became part of Kibbor hundred.

In 1793, John Crichton-Stuart, 2nd Marquess of Bute was born. He would spend his life building the Cardiff docks and would later be called "the creator of modern Cardiff".

King Edward VII granted Cardiff city status on 28 October 1905, and the city acquired a Roman Catholic Cathedral in 1916.

The city was proclaimed capital city of Wales on 20 December 1955, by a written reply by the Home Secretary Gwilym Lloyd George. Caernarfon had also vied for this title.[1][2][3]

Resources

Cemeteries (Civil)

Ancient Cardiff Castle.jpg

Below are websites that may contain cemetery records for non-parish churches in Bath.

Cathays Cemetery
Address: Fairoak Road
Cardiff CF24 4PY
Phone: +44 29 2062 3294

Church Records

Parishes

Wales generally does not have a large population of Anglican communicants. However Cardiff does have several parishes. The following website contains information for these parishes:

Nonconformists

The following nonconformist churches and groups have a presence in Cardiff:

  • Methodist
  • Presbyterian Church of Wales
  • Roman Catholic
  • Baptist
  • Eastern Orthodox
  • Seventh Day Adventist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
  • Jehovah's Witnesses

Additionally there are communities for the following non-Christian groups:

  • Buddhism
  • Islam
  • Hinduism
  • Judaism
  • Sikhism
  • Druidism

Civil Registration

Cardiff Records Office

City Hall
Cathays Park
Cardiff, CF10 3ND
Tel: 029 2087 1680 or 029 2087 1684
Website

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Newspapers

Occupations

As the capital city of Wales, Cardiff is the main engine of growth in the Welsh economy. Though the population of Cardiff is about 10% of the Welsh population, the economy of Cardiff makes up nearly 20% of Welsh GDP and 40% of the city's workforce are daily in-commuters from the surrounding south Wales area.

Cardiff is the principal finance and business services center in Wales. This sector, combined with the Public Administration, Education and Health sectors, have accounted for around 75% of Cardiff's economic growth since 1991. Notable companies such as Legal & General, Admiral Insurance, HBOS, Zurich, ING Direct, The AA, Principality Building Society, 118118, British Gas, Brains, SWALEC Energy and BT, all operate large national or regional headquarters and contact centers in the city.[4][5][6]

Societies

Glamorgan Family History Society

Insole Court Community Centre
Fairwater Road
Cardiff, CF5 2LN
Website

Archives

Glamorgan Archives

Clos Parc Morgannwg
Leckwith
CARDIFF CF11 8AW
Website

Cardiff Central Library

Mill Lane
Cardiff, Wales CF10 1FL
Telephone: 029 2038 2116
Email: centrallibrary@cardiff.gov.uk

The National Archives, Glamorgan

Website

Cardiff University Library Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Arts and Social Studies Library
Colum Drive
Cardiff, CF10 3EU
Website

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cardiff," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiff, accessed 15 - 19 October, 2016.
  2. Cardiff City Council, "Cardiff Glamorgan," website, https://www.cardiff.gov.uk/ENG/Home/Pages/default.aspx, accessed 17 - 19 October 2016
  3. Local Histories of Britain, "Cardiff Glamorgan, website, http://www.localhistories.org/Cardiff.html, accessed 18 - 19 October 2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Cardiff," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiff, accessed 15 - 19 October, 2016.
  5. Cardiff City Council, "Cardiff Glamorgan," website, https://www.cardiff.gov.uk/ENG/Home/Pages/default.aspx, accessed 17 - 19 October 2016
  6. Local Histories of Britain, "Cardiff Glamorgan, website, http://www.localhistories.org/Cardiff.html, accessed 18 - 19 October 2016