Carlton County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carlton County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Carlton County

Guide to Carlton County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}




Carlton County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Carlton County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 23, 1857
County Seat Carlton
Courthouse
Address Carlton County Courthouse
301 Walnut Avenue
Carlton, MN 55718
218-384-4281
218-384-9195
Carlton County Website


County Information

Carlton County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1871 1870 1850

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, probate, court,
land and naturalization records from 1972. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1857--Carlton County was created 23 May 1857 from Pine and St. Louis Counties.  County seat: Carlton [3]
  • For a brief history of how Carlton County was named, click here, then select Carlton County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Barnum | Carlton | Cloquet | Cromwell | Kettle River | Moose Lake | Scanlon | Thomson | Wrenshall | Wright

Townships

Atkinson Township | Automba Township | Barnum Township | Beseman Township | Blackhoof Township | Eagle Township | Holyoke Township | Kalevala Township | Lakeview Township | Mahtowa Township | Moose Lake Township | Perch Lake Township | Silver Township | Silver Brook Township | Skelton Township | Split Rock Township | Thomson Township | Twin Lakes Township | Wrenshall Township

Unincorporated Townships

Clear Creek | North Carlton

Unincorporated Communities

Atkinson | Automba | Duesler | Esko | Harney | Holyoke | Iverson | Mahtowa | Nemadji | Otter Creek | Pleasant Valley | Sawyer | Scotts Corner

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

State Census

Church

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Carlton – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carlton County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mncarlton.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carlton County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies and Libraries

Carlton County Historical Society
406 Cloquet Avenue
Cloquet 55720-1750
Phone: 218-879-1938
email:[1]
Website

Carlton County, Genealogical Society Of
P.O. Box 204
Cloquet 55720

Moose Lake Area Historical Society
PO Box 235
900 Folz Blvd
Moose Lake MN 55767-0235

Northeast Minnesota Historical Center
University of Minnesota-Duluth
Library 375
Duluth, MN 55812

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carlton County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).