Carlton near Snaith, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Carlton near Snaith, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Carlton near Snaith, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Selby|
|Parish registers: 1617|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Snaith|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
CARLETON, or Carlton, a township-chapelry in Snaith parish, W. R. Yorkshire; near the river Aire and the Goole railway, 2 miles N of Snaith. 
CARLETON, a chapelry, in the parish of Snaith, union of Selby, Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 1½ mile (N. by E.)from Snaith; containing 802 inhabitants.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Carlton near Snaith exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|CARLTON NEAR SNAITH CHAPELRY (1598) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Snaith to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SNAITH PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464248.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- John Marius Wilson Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72
- Samuel A. Lewis, [http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50857#s18 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 511-520. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.