Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carroll County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Carroll County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Carrollton
Courthouse
MissouriCarrollCourthouse.jpg
Address Carroll County Courthouse
County Courthouse
Carrollton, MO 64633
Phone: 816.542.0615
Carroll County Website


County Information

Carroll County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1833 1883 1830 1833 1833

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1895 and death records 1883-1890; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1833 and naturalization records 1843-1919; Recorder of Deeds has marriage records and land records from 1833; Probate Office has probate records.[2]

History

Charles Carroll.JPG

The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[3]

Parent County

1833 Carroll County was created 2 January 1833 from Ray County. County seat: Carrollton [4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Caldwell  • Chariton  • Lafayette  • Livingston  • Ray  • Saline

Carroll CountyChariton CountyRandolph CountyMacon CountyClinton CountyGrundy CountyCooper CountyDeKalb CountyHoward CountyRay CountySaline CountyLafayette CountyPettis CountyClay CountyJohnson CountyJackson CountyCaldwell CountyLivingston CountyDaviess CountyLinn CountyMOCarroll.jpg



Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Mary's, Carrollton

  • 1869 - 1876 St. Mary's, Carrollton, Baptism Index 1869-1876. Batch C511931 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1869 - 1885 St. Mary's, Carrollton, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M511931 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Carroll County, Missouri : ... including a history of its townships, cities, towns and villages ... biographical sketches of prominent men and citizens .... St. Louis : Missouri Historical, 1881.

Maps

Mocarroll.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Carroll County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County, Missouri:

- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Carroll County Genealogical Association
    P.O. Box 354
    206 West Washington
    Carrollton, MO 64633
    Phone: 660-542-0183

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Carroll Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Carroll County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Carroll County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Carroll County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.