Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Carroll County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Carroll County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Southwest Virginia county.
- 1 Carroll County Virginia Courthouse
- 2 Carroll County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court Records
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land and Property
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military Records and History
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Probate Records
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Carroll County Virginia Genealogy References
Carroll County Virginia Courthouse
Carroll County Virginia History
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Carroll County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):33-35. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. [Includes information from Carroll County.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Carroll County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Carroll County:
- Tombstone Trnascription Project Carroll County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Goodspur Monthly Meeting (1790-1800) aka Dugspur
- Road Creek Monthly Meeting (1802-1810)
- Ward's Gap Monthly Meeting, Hillsville, Va. (1795-1825)
Land and Property
- Alderman, John Perry. Carroll 1765-1815, the Settlements: A History of the First Fifty Years of Carroll County, Virginia. n.p.: Central Va. Newspapers, 1985. Available at FHL.
Military Records and History
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Carroll County pensioners.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Carroll County, p. 67.]
Regiments. Service men in Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company G.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Boys).
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.
- - 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Marksmen), Company D (Rifle Rangers), and Company E.
- - 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company E.
- - 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company D and Company I.
- - 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Rough and Readys) and Company I (Reed Island Rifles).
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G.
- - 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company G.
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization and Citizenship
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexes to Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1854-1913 - Carroll County Marriage Index 1854-1913. Batch M868734 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1853-1870 - Carroll County Death Index 1853-1870. Batch B868734 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1855-1896 - Carroll County Deaths (VAGenWeb)
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Carroll County Historical Society and Museum
- 515 North Main Street
- Hillsville, VA 24343
Phone: (276) 728 – 4113
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy Websites
Carroll County Virginia Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "Charles Carroll of Carrollton," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton, accessed 13 January 2012.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- [hhttp://www.topozone.com/states/Virginia.asp?county=Carrollfeature=Cemetery USGS Map], Topozone.com
- Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
- Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
- J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.