Carsington, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carsington, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Carsington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Carsington, Derbyshire
Carsington Church Derbyshire.jpg
Carsington Church Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirksworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

CARSINGTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 2¼ miles (W. by S.) from Wirksworth. [1] .


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.

Church records

Carsington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Carsington St Margaret of Scotland (1592) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Ashbourne

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Carsington on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 523-526.Date accessed: 29 April 2013.