Cass County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cass County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska


Cass County


Cass County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Cass County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 23, 1854
County Seat Plattsmouth
Courthouse
px
Address Cass County Courthouse
346 Main Street
Plattsmouth, NE 68048
Phone: 855-658-5736 (toll free)


Cass County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Cass County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1855 1860 1855 1855

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records from 1855. County Court has probate and court records from 1854. Cemetery Board has burial records. Clerk District Court has divorce records from 1855. Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1854 Cass County was created 23 November 1854 as an original county. County seat: Plattsmouth [3]

Description

Cass County was named in honor of Lewis Cass, the son of Jonathan Cass, a Revolutionary Soldier.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

Cities
Villages
  • Alvo
  • Avoca
  • Cedar Creek
  • Eagle
  • Elmwood
  • Greenwood
  • Manley
  • Murdock
  • Murray
  • Nehawka
  • South Bend
  • Union
Unincorporated communities
Census divisions

Cass County is divided into the following divisions, called precincts, except for the cities of Plattsmouth and Weeping Water.

  • Avoca
  • Center
  • East Rock Bluff
  • Eight Mile Grove
  • Elmwood
  • Greenwood
  • Liberty
  • City of Louisville
  • Mount Pleasant
  • Nehawka
  • City of Plattsmouth
  • Plattsmouth
  • Salt Creek
  • South Bend
  • Stove Creek

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 3,369
1870 8,151 141.9%
1880 16,683 104.7%
1890 24,080 44.3%
1900 21,330 −11.4%
1910 19,786 −7.2%
1920 18,029 −8.9%
1930 17,684 −1.9%
1940 16,992 −3.9%
1950 16,361 −3.7%
1960 17,821 8.9%
1970 18,076 1.4%
1980 20,297 12.3%
1990 21,318 5.0%
2000 24,334 14.1%
2010 25,241 3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Cass County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Churches

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Necass.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Cass County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Cass - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Cass County Genealogy Club
    1116 Third Avenue
    Plattsmouth, NE 68048

Libraries

  • Plattsmouth Public Library
    401 Avenue A
    Plattsmouth, NE 68048
    Phone: 402-296-4154
    Fax: 402-296-4712
    Email: plattsmouthpubliclibrary@hotmail.com
  • Elmwood Public Library
    124 West D St
    PO Box 283
    Elmwood, NE 68349-0283
    Phone: 402-994-4125
    Fax: 402-994-4125
    Email: elmwoodlibrary@outlook.com
    Director: Janet L Sorensen
  • Greenwood Public Library
    619 Main St
    PO Box 29
    Greenwood, NE 68366-0029
    Phone: 402-789-2301
    Fax: 402-789-2323
    Email: kfranklibrary@hotmail.com
    Director: Karen Frank

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/cass/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Cass County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cass_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  6. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Cass_County,_Nebraska_Genealogy&oldid=2775770"