Cass County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cass County, North Dakota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.png Cass County

Guide to Cass County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Fargo
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Pembina [1]
Neighboring Counties
Barnes  • Ransom  • Richland  • Steele  • Traill  • Clay (MN)  • Norman (MN)  • Wilkin (MN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaCassCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Cass Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Cass County was organized on October 27, 1873. It is named in honor of a railroad executive George Washington Cass. County Seat: Fargo.[2]

County Courthouse

Cass County Courthouse
211 9th Street South
PO Bo 2806
Fargo, ND 58103-1833
Phone: 701.241.5646
Cass County Website
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1885[3]

Cass County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1873 1872 1884 1873 1873 1873 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1873--Cass County was created 4 January 1873 from Pembina County.
County seat: Fargo [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Addison
  • Amenia
  • Arthur
  • Ayr
  • Barnes
  • Bell
  • Berlin
  • Buffalo
  • Casselton
  • Clifton
  • Cornell
  • Davenport
  • Dows
  • Durbin
  • Eldred
  • Empire
  • Erie
  • Everest
  • Fargo
  • Gardner
  • Gill
  • Gunkel
  • Harmony
  • Harwood
  • Highland
  • Hill
  • Howes
  • Hunter
  • Kinyon
  • Lake
  • Leonard
  • Maple River
  • Mapleton
  • Noble
  • Normanna
  • Page
  • Pleasant
  • Pontiac
  • Raymond
  • Reed
  • Rich
  • Rochester
  • Rush River
  • Stanley
  • Tower
  • Walburg
  • Warren
  • Watson
  • Wheatland
  • Wiser


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 8,998
1890 19,613 118.0%
1900 28,625 45.9%
1910 33,935 18.6%
1920 41,477 22.2%
1930 48,735 17.5%
1940 52,849 8.4%
1950 58,877 11.4%
1960 66,947 13.7%
1970 73,653 10.0%
1980 88,247 19.8%
1990 102,874 16.6%
2000 123,138 19.7%
2010 149,778 21.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.


Lutheran

Enderlin

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Enderlin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Fargo

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Enderlin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

First Lutheran Church, Fargo

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Fargo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Hickson

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Hickson, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Harwood

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Harwood, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Cass County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War


Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Cass County Historical Society
1351 Main Ave W
West Fargo 58078-1321
Telephone: 701-282-2822
E-mail: mwarren@bonanzaville.com
Website

Casselton Historical Society
PO Box 86
Casselton, ND 58012
Telephone: 701-347-4163

Red River Valley Genealogy Society
c/o Linda Zeutschel
PO Box 9284
Fargo, ND 58106
Telephone: 701-239-4129 or 701-282-2076
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/ndak/cass/ accessed 09/28/2016
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cass County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Cass County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  5. 5.0 5.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.