Castle Eaton, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Castle Eaton, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Castle Eaton

Guide to Castle Eaton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Castle Eaton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Highworth and Swindon
Registration District Highworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1549
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

CASTLE-EATON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, hundred of Highworth,Cricklade, and Staple, Cricklade and N. divisions of Wilts, 3½ miles (S. by E.) from Fairford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Castle Eaton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
CASTLE EATON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN
1549-1812

NIM
1549-1837

TGEN
1549-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.
  2. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.