Castleton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Castleton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Castleton St Edmund Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chapel en le Frith|
|Registration District||Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
CASTLETON (St. Edmund), a parish, in the union of Chapel-En-Le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (N.) from Tideswell. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.  .
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.
Castleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Castleton St Edmund (1662) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1662-1864
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Castleton St Edmund The parish originally included Edale, Derbyshire township until 1863
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1432 has deposited registers Bap 1647-1650, 1662-1864 Mar 1647-1650, 1662-2002 Burials 1647-1650, 1662-1887 Banns 1754-1774, 1823-1951
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Chapel en le Frith
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Castleton on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 526-531. Date accessed: 29 April 2013.