Catawba Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Catawba Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png Indians of South Carolina Gotoarrow.png Catawba Indians

Catawba potter, they were well known for their pottery in the Carolinas..jpg

Tribal Headquarters

Catawba Indian Nation
996 Avenue of the Nations
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Phone: 1-803-366-4792
Fax: 1.803.366.0629

History

Culture Area: Southern Piedmont

Linguistic Family: Eastern Siouan

Traditional Economy: agriculture, hunting, gathering


The Catawba Indian Nation/Catawba Tribe of South Carolina is the only Federally recognized tribe in South Carolina.

The Catawba Nation is primarily associated with the state of South Carolina[1].

The Historical Marker database has pictures and inscriptions of the Cataba Indian Memorial in Fort Mill, York County, South Carolina.

Brief Timeline

1715: The Catawba tribe participated in the Yamasee War

1738: Smallpox raged in South Carolina and many Catawba died.

1759: Smallpox killed close to 50% of the tribe

1763: A reservation was established: 15 miles square on both sides of the Catawba river, within the present York and Lancaster counties, South Carolina

1826: The reservation was leased to non-Indians

1840: Many tribal members move to North Carolina and joined the Cherokee

1841: The Catawba tribe sold all but one square mile of their reservation. The tribal headquarters is located there today.

1850: Catawba tribal members return to South Carolina, the state sold them over 600 acres.

1962: Catawba of South Carolina Terminated, Tribal membership 631- Tribal land (Acres) 3,388

1973: The Catawba tribe reorganized

1993: The Catawba receive federal recognition

Reservations

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Black, James M. The Catawba Indians of South Carolina: Live of Chief Samuel Blue. FHL Fiche 6018853

Blumer, Thomas J. Bibliography of the Catawba. Native American Bibliography Series, No. 10. The Scarecrow Press, Inc. Netuchen, N.J. London 1987 ISBN 0-8108-1986-4 FHL Book 970.3 C281bt

Blumer, Thomas J. Catawba Nation: Treasures in History. Charleston, SC : The History Press, C 2007. FHL Book 970.3 C281btj

Brown, Douglas Summers. Catawba Indians, The People of the River. Columbia, SC., University of South Carolina. FHL Book 970.3 C281b

Hudson, Charles M. The Catawba Nation. Athens, University of Georgia Press, 1970. FHL Book: 970.3 C281h

Martin, Judy Canty. My Father's People : A Complete Genealogy of the Catawba Nation. FHL Book 970.3 C281mjc

Merrell, James H. The Indians' New World : Catawabas and Their Neighbors from European Contact Through the Era of Removal. Chapel Hill NC : university of North Carolina Press, c1989. FHL Book 970.3 C281m

Watson, Ian. Catawba Indian Ggenealogy. Geneseo, NY : Geneseo Foundation. FHL Book 970.3 C281w

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Catawba Nation, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America and in the Biography and history of the Indians of North America from its first discovery by Samuel G. Drake.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

A Census of Catawba Indians residing in South Carolina and Haywood County, North Carolina was taken in 1849:

  • Catawba Indian Records: The Second Census of the Catawba Indians and Other Miscellaneous Records. MSS. FHL

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online