Chadkirk, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Chadkirk, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Romiley - Chadkirk Chapel
|Poor Law Union||Stockport|
|Parish registers: 1748|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1790|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Chadkirk St Chad is a chapelry in Cheshire and was created in 1745 from part of Romiley chapelry in Stockport St Mary Ancient parish.
The chapel originated in the 16th Century, although the site may date back even further - to the arrival of St Chad in the 7th Century.
The well and spring exist to this day. Most of what we know about St. Chad has been written by Bede in his 'A History Of The English Church And People' written in Northumbria in 731 AD and, despite being of Roman persuasion, Bede had a very high regard for St. Chad.
ROMILEY, or Chadkirk, a village and a township-chapelry in Stockport parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the Peak Forest canal, adjacent to the Manchester, Hyde, and New Mills railway, 4 miles E by N of Stockport; and has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Stockport. The church was built in 1865. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241244.
Chadkirk St Chad (Romiley) Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Chadkirk St Chad (Romiley) Chapelry (1748) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1790-1895
|FS BT'S||1790-1909|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for the chapelry of Chadkirk, 1747-1910 Chadkirk, also known as Romiley, is a chapelry in Stockport parish. Cheshire Record Office call number: P90/1/1-2, 2/1-2, 3337/1, 3/1.
| Parish Registers: Chadkirk
|Burials, 1747-1813, 1847-1868. Marriages, 1747-1754. Baptisms, 1747-1910.|| BRITISH |
2147234 Items 1 - 6
Bishop's transcripts for Chadkirk, 1790-1913 St. Chad's Church is a chapelry known as Chadkirk. The civil chapelry is called Romiley not Chadkirk.Cheshire Record Office: EDB 47
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in Record Search
| Bishop's Transcript: Chadkirk
|Baptisms, burials, 1790-1913.||BRITISH 1647367 Item 4|
- Romiley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive).
- Romiley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
For history of Methodist worship in Romiley
Methodist records are held at Manchester Central Libray. Romiley Methodist Circuit (C19)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chadkirk on GENUKI
also see Romiley on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.