Chapel en le Frith, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Chapel en le Frith, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chapel en le Frith, Derbyshire
Chapel en le Frith St Thomas Derbyshire.jpg
Chapel en le Frith St Thomas Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chapel en le Frith
Registration District Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

CHAPEL-EN-LE-FRITH (St. Thomas à Becket), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 41 miles (N. W. by N.) from Derby, and 167 (N. W. by N.) from London, on the road from Sheffield to Manchester; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1] .

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.


Church records

Alderwasley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Chapel en le Frith St Thomas Becket (1620) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1745-1874
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
1746-1907
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Chapel-en-le-Frith St Thomas a Becket had a mission church which was a chapel of ease to the parish known as Cockyard Mission.

The parish included the townships of  Bowden Edge, Bradshaw Edge and Combs Edge which together were known as Bowden Chapel. The hamlet of Dove Holes, Derbyshire was also included until 1983

Derbyshire Record Office reference has deposited registers Bap 1620-1996 Mar 1620-1998 Burials 1620-1992 Banns 1754-1792,1837-1996

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Chapel en le Frith

Poor Law Unions

Chapel en le Frith Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chapel en le Frith on GENUKI 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 545-549. 29 April 2013.