Chardstock, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chardstock, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Chardstock, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chardstock, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beaminster- Forum and Redhone
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Axminster
Registration District Axminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Chardstock
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office
Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Chardstock All Saints.

Parish History

Chardstock is an ancient parish. In 1841 part of parish was divided off and joined with part of Axminster an ancient parish in Cornwall to form the Chardstock All Saints parish.

CHARDSTOCK, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict in the district of Axminster, and county of Dorset. The village stands on the river Kitbridge, near the Yeovil and Exeter railway, between the Chard-Road and Axminster stations, 3½ miles SSW of Chard.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chardstock, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1651
.
Indexes 1651-1775 findmypast[2]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. DAte accessed: 04 July 2103.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.