Charfield, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charfield, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Charfield, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charfield, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grumbald's Ash
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Thornbury
Registration District Thornbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

CHARFIELD (St. James), a parish, in the union of Thornbury, Upper division of the hundred of Grumbald's-Ash, W. division of the county of Gloucester. The Gloucester and Bristol railway has a station here, two miles from the Wickwar station. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charfield, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[7]
CHARFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1586-1812 1586-1812 1586-1812 1586-1812 1586-1812 1586-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1813-1938 1813-1938 1813-1950 1813-1950
BOYD 1664-1837
DEAN 1837-1931

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288770.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 11 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 5 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'