Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chariton County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Chariton County

Guide to Chariton County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Chariton County, Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Founded November 16, 1820
County Seat Keytesville
Address Chariton County Courthouse
306 S Cherry
Keytesville, MO 65261
Phone: 660.288.3273
Chariton County Website

County Information

Chariton County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1821 1883 1830 1826 1861


County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1887; Circuit Court Clerk and Recorder has marriage records from 1821, divorce and court records from 1872, land records from 1827, naturalization records from 1877 and military discharge records from 1918; Circuit Court Division has probate records from 1860.[2]


Parent County

1820 Chariton County was created 16 November 1820 from Howard County. County seat: Keytesville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

1861 Fire destroyed all County Court records November 11, 1861.
1864 Fire destroyed the courthouse on September 20, 1864.
1973 Fire destroyed the courthouse on August 27, 1973.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Carrol  • Howard  • Linn  • Livingston  • Macon  • Randolph  • Saline  •

Chariton CountyRandolph CountyMacon CountyLivingston CountyShelby CountyLinn CountyKnox CountySullivan CountyAdair CountyGrundy CountyCarroll CountyDaviess CountyCaldwell CountyMonroe CountyRay CountyCarroll CountySaline CountyLafayette CountyHoward CountyBoone CountyAudrain CountyCallaway CountyPettis CountyJohnson CountyMoniteau CountyCooper CountyMOChariton.jpg





For tips on accessing Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Historical, pictorial and biographical record of Chariton County, Missouri. Salisbury, Mo. : Pictorial and Biographical Publishing, 1896.
  • Smith, Thomas Berry. History of Chariton and Howard counties, Missouri. Topeka [Kansas] : Historical Pub., 1923.




Civil War

Online Records


Service men in Chariton County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chariton County, Missouri:

- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 35th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Chariton Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Chariton County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Chariton County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search Chariton County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chariton County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at