Charles Mix County, South Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Charles Mix County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Charles Mix County, South Dakota|
Location in the state of South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
|Founded||May 8, 1862|
|County Seat||Lake Andes|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Web Sites
- 8 References
Charles Mix County, South Dakota Record Dates
Charles Mix County Courthouse
400 Main St E; PO Box 490
Lake Andes, SD 57356
Clerk Courts has birth, marriage and death records from 1905,
burial records, divorce, probate and court records from 1890
1862--Charles Mix County was created 8 May 1862 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Lake Andes 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Various Charles Mix County Cemetery transcriptions including names, dates of birth and death if available.
1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation Military Service
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pickstown, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Charles Mix County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.
- 1861-1941 - South Dakota, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1941 at FamilySearch — index and images
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Charles Mix County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Charles Mix then click Probate records.
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.
Societies and Libraries
Platte Genealogical Society
PO Box 517
Platte, SD 57369-0517
Charles Mix County Historical Society
(East Highway 46/50)
P.O. Box 444
Wagner, SD 57380
Charles Mix Historical Restoration SocietyGeddes Historic District Museum Complex
Fourth and Main Street
PO Box 97
Geddes, SD 57342
Artifacts, memorialbilia, locak family histories, government records, ets but no actual census records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Charles Mix County, South Dakota, p.623
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).