Charlotte County, New Brunswick Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
New Brunswick
Charlotte County

Guide to Charlotte county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of New Brunswick Charlotte.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

When New Brunswick was established in 1784 it was divided into eight counties. Charlotte County is one of the original counties established in 1785. It is located in southwestern New Brunswick. Seven parishes, Pennfield, Saint Andrews, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick, Saint Stephen and West Isles were created in 1786. Campobello and Grand Manan were created from West Isles in 1803 and 1816 respectively. In 1823, Saint James was created from Saint Stephen. Dumbarton was created from Saint Patrick in 1856, and Lepreau was divided from Pennfield in 1859. Clarendon was set off from Pennfield and Lepreau in 1869. Dufferin from St. Stephen in 1873; Saint Croix was created from Saint Andrews in 1874. [1]

Maps and Gazetteers


Populated Places

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Campobello         Link   Link
Castalia         Link   Link
Digdeguash         Link   Link
Gleason Road         Link   Link
Lepreau        Link   Link
Maces Bay        Link   Link
Milltown        Link   Link
Pennfield        Link   Link
Saint David         Link   Link
Saint George         Link   Link
Saint Patrick           Link   Link
Scotch Ridge        Link   Link
St. Andrews           Link   Link
St. Stephen          Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

York County * Sunbury County * Queens County * Kings County * Saint John County * Washington County, Main, U.S.A

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories

Websites

References

  1. Charlotte County Genealogical Guild, http://www.heritagecharlotte.com/documents/PANB-Charlotte-FindingAid.pdf April 5, 2017
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher