Charlsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charlsbury, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Charlsbury, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Charlsbury, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury; Chadlington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Bicester; Chipping Norton
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Finstock beginning 1842 and for Chadlington beginning 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669; Separate records exist for Finstock beginning 1847 and for Chadlington beginning 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chipping Norton
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

CHARLBURY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chipping-Norton, partly in the hundred of Chadlington, and partly in that of Banbury, county of Oxford, 6¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Woodstock. Contains the ancient chapelries of East Chadlington and Shorthampton, the tything of West Chadlington, and the hamlets of Fawler,Finstock, and Walcott. This parish, in old records was called Ceorlebury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Charlsbury, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1669-1851
OFHS 1559-1996
1559-2001
1559-2000

Finstock (and Fawler) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Finstock (and Fawler) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1842-1920
1850-1920
1842-1907


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 549-554. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.