Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charlton County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Charlton County

Guide to Charlton County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Charlton County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Charlton County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 18, 1854
County Seat Folkston
Courthouse
Address Charlton County Courthouse
100 Third Street
Folkston, GA 31537
Phone: 912.496.2549
Charlton County Website


County Information

Charlton County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1854

1860
1878
1878


County Courthouse

Charlton County Courthouse
1520 Third Street
Folkston, GA 31537
Phone: 912.496.2230

Probate Judge has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land  records from 1877.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
1520 Third St., Suite A
P.O. Box 760
Folkston, GA 31537
Telephone: (912) 496-2354
Fax: (912) 496-3882

Probate Court of Charlton County
1520 Third Street, Suite B
Folkston, GA 31537
Telephone: 912 -496- 2230
Fax: 912-496-7045

History

Parent County

1854--Charlton County was created 18 February 1854 fromCamden County.  County seat:  Folkston [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1878, 1928 The Charlton Courthouse burned before 16 May 1878, destroying most county records. On 19 February 1928 the next courthouse burned. However, this time all records were saved.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baker  • Brantley County  • Camden  • Nassau County  • Ware County

Charlton CountyEchols CountyClinch CountyWare CountyAtkinson CountyCoffee CountyPierce CountyBrantley CountyGlynn CountyNassau CountySt. Johns CountyClay CountyBaker CountyColumbia CountyHamilton CountySuwannee CountyDuval CountyCamden CountyGACharlton.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • McQueen, Alex. S. History of Charlton County. Atlanta, Ga.: Stein Print. Co., c1932. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gacharlton.jpg

Military

  • Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Charlton County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Charlton County Historical Society
RR 3, Box 142-C
Folkston, Georgia, 31537

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charlton County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19. At various libraries (WorldCat).