Charlton Horethorne, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Charlton Horethorne

Guide to Charlton Horethorne, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlton Horethorne, Somerset
Charlton Horethorne Somerset.jpg
Charlton Horethorne Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Milborne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

CHARLTON-HORETHORNE, or Canfield (St.Peter And St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a market town, in the union of Wincanton, hundred of Horethorne, E. division of Somerset, 5½ miles (S. W.) from Wincanton.[1]

Additional information:

Charlton Horethorne St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Wincanton deanery of the Diocese of Bath and Wells in the county of Somerset.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlton Horethorne, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
CHARLTON HORETHORNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1695-1812 1695-1812 1695-1753 1695-1753 1695-1812 1695-1812
FREG 1695-1912
1598-1912
1598, 1695-1912
MARR
1598-1837

NBI

1734-1988
SOPC 1695-1860
1695-1837
1695-1889
Church records on microfilm

Parish registers for Charlton-Horethorne, 1695-1902 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/P CHA.H 2/1/1-6, 2/2/1.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1695-1743, 1762-1860. Marriages, 1695-1734, 1754-1806, 1812-1837. Banns, 1754-1785, 1870-1902. Burials, 1695-1743, 1763-1889. (First register very faded.)
FHL BRITISH Film
1526463 Items 27 - 33

Bishop's transcripts for Charlton-Horethorne, 1599-1863 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.
Somerset Record Office: D/D/Rr 88-88a, 58b

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1599-1640, 1662-1669, 1733, 1743-1765, 1775-1784, 1802-1837. Some other years also missing or with illegible dates due to poor condition of original record.
FHL BRITISH Film
1278917 Items 16-17
Baptisms and burials, 1838-1863; marriages, 1846-1854.
FHL BRITISH Film
1526167 Item 20


Known Issues

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue Indexing project batch I04481-4 is incorrect. The data entry for place names is incorrect for film 1526463 and affects the parishes of Chard, SomersetCharlcombe, SomersetCharlton Adam, SomersetCharlton Mackrell, Somerset

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.



Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/CharltonHorethorne/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  10. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.