Charlton Kings, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Charlton Kings, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlton Kings, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cheltenham
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cheltenham
Registration District Cheltenham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchcombe
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

CHARLTON, KINGS (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Cheltenham, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Cheltenham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlton Kings, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7][8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
CHARLTON KINGS PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1813 1538-1813 1538-1753 1538-1753 1538-1813 1538-1813
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1935 1813-1935
BOYD 1538-1812
FREG 1538-1846 1538-1846 1538-1846
IARC 1539-1730 (gaps) 1539-1730 (gaps) 1539-1730 (gaps)
IARC 1538-1811 (gaps)
JOIN

1538-1811


PALL
1790-1812

Charlton Kings Holy Apostles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Charlton Kings Holy Apostles Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1886-1913 1886-1913 1886-1938 1886-1938

Charlton Kings St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Charlton Kings St Mary Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1906-1911 1906-1911 1906-1911 1906-1911 1906-1911 1906-1911

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288766.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 549-554. Date accessed: 11 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Extracts from the Charlton Kings Parish Registers,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 1 (1881):31-33. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  8. 'Extracts from the Charlton Kings Parish Registers: Marriages, 1538-1811,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 4 (1890):331-336. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  9. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.