Charlton near Malmesbury, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Charlton near Malmesbury

Guide to Charlton near Malmesbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlton near Malmesbury, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Malmesbury
Registration District Malmesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661; For more records see Westport St Mary
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

CHARLTON (St. John The Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Malmesbury, Malmesburyand Kingswood, and N. divisions of Wilts, 2¼ miles(N. E. by E.) from Malmesbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlton near Malmesbury, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Charlton near Malmesbury, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NIM 1607-1837
1607-1837
1607-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464199.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 549-554. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.