Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Chattooga County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chattooga County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 28, 1838|
|Address|| Chattooga County Courthouse|
PO Box 211
Summerville, GA 30747-0211
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Chattooga County, Georgia Record Dates
Chattooga County Courthouse
PO Box 211
Summerville, GA 30747-0211
Clerk Court has divorce records from early 1900’s and court records. Clerk Office has birth, marriage death, burial and probate records.
Clerk of Superior Court
10035 Commerce Street
P.O. BOX 159
Summerville, GA 30747
Phone: (706) 857-0706
Probate Court of Chattooga County
P.O. Box 467
Summerville, GA 30747
Phone: (706) 857-0709
1838--Chattooga County was formed from parts of Floyd and Walker Counties. The county seat is Summerville.
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville
- 1853-1885 - Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Baptism Index 1853-1885. Batch C712461 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1853-1895 - Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Marriage Index 1853-1895. Batch M712461 at FamilySearch - free.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Service men in Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company B
- - 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- - 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- - 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- - 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Griffith, Jessie June Brandon. 1985. 1870 census and mortality schedules of Chattooga County, GA.: plus Confederate soldier information, where they enlisted, fought and where they died. Rossville, Ga: J.B. Griffith. (page 69) FHL 455108
- Chattooga County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1963. Veterans of Civil and European wars, 1861-1960. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 337228
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- 1956-1924 - Index to Wills 1856-1924 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1867-1868 -Index to Inventories and Appraisements 1867-1868 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1851-1859 - Index to Annual Returns, Inventories, Appraisements, ouchers, 1851-1859 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1856-1880 - Wills 1856-1880 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($).
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
Marriage records can be found as far back as 1836. Those prior to 1838 were probably recorded by ministers who recorded them after the fact.
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1839 - 1860 - Marriage Records Indices, by Bride and by Groom
- 1839 - 1880 - Chattooga County Marriage Index 1839-1880. Batch M712451 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1861 - 1880 - Groom Marriage Index, Bride Index
- 1880 - 1895 - Chattooga County Marriage Index 1880-1895. Batch M712452 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1885 - 1886 - Marriages from Newspapers 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1849-50, 1869-70 - Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1939 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Chattooga County Historical Society
200 S. Commerce St
Summerville, Georgia, 30747
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Chattooga County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Chattooga County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chattooga County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.