Chawleigh, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Chawleigh, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||North Taunton with Winkleigh|
|Poor Law Union||Crediton|
|Parish registers: 1544|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
CHAWLEY (St. James), a parish, in the union of Crediton, hundred of North Tawton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Chulmleigh.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|CHAWLEIGH PARISH Online Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241323.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chawleigh on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-562. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.