Cheam, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cheam, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  go to  Surrey go to  Surrey Parishes

Guide to Cheam, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cheam, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wallington
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon, and Shoreham; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

CHEAM (St. Dunstan), a parish, in the union of Epsom, Second division of the hundred of Wallington, E. division of Surrey, 1½ mile (N. E. by E.) from Ewell.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cheam St Dunstan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Sutton Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5][6]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Cheam St Dunstan Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1915 1813-1915 1760-1940 1760-1940 1813-1954 1813-1954
BOYD 1538-1829
NBI 1539-1840
PALL 1790-1837

Cheam Common St Philip parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cheam Common St Philip Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1876-1913 1876-1913 1906-1938 1906-1938 1925-1985 1925-1985

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474665.


Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[10]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  3. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1915,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  4. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1940,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  5. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  6. Reid, John D. 'Ancestry adds Sutton, Surrey records,' Canada's Anglo-Celtic Connections, 9 April 2016, http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/2016/04/ancestry-adds-sutton-surrey-records.html, accessed 11 April 2016.
  7. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  10. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.