Chedington, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chedington, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Chedington, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chedington, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beaminster-Forum and Redhone
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Beaminster
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1756
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

CHEDDINGTON, or Chedington, a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset; at the sources of the rivers Axe and Parret, 3¼ miles N of Beamiuster, and 4½ SE of Crewkerne r. station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chedington, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1756-1812 FreeREG[2]
1756-1812 Joiner[3]
1790-1812 Ancestry[4]

Chedington, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Chedington, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1756-1812

TGEN
1756-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870.Date accessed: 04 July 2013.
  2. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  3. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  5. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.